Ensembl resources are currently in reduced functionality mode. Please see our blog post for the latest information and our Twitter feed

EnsemblEnsembl Home

Ensembl Scientific Advisory Board

The Ensembl project receives advice and guidance from our scientific advisory board. The Ensembl SAB consists of a collection of scientists representing a spread of disciplines across and beyond biology. Our current SAB members are:

  • Deanna Church, Senior Director of Applications, 10x Genomics, California, USA
  • Erich Jarvis, Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Professor, Laboratory of Neurogenetics of Language, the Rockefeller University, New York, USA
  • Federica Di Palma, Director of Science (Vertebrate and Health Genomics), The Genome Analysis Centre, Norwich, UK
  • Felicity Jones, Max Planck Research Group Leader, Friedrich Miescher Laboratory, Tuebingen, Germany
  • Heidi Rehm, Associate Professor of Pathology, BWH and Harvard Medical School; Director, Partners Laboratory for Molecular Medicine; Massachusetts, USA
  • Mark Diekhans, Technical Project Manager, Center for Biomolecular Science & Engineering, UCSC, California, USA
  • Martien Groenen, Professor in Animal Genomics, Wageningen University, The Netherlands
  • Nils Gehlenborg, Assistant Professor of Biomedical Informatics, Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA
  • Wendy Bickmore, Director MRC Human Genetics Unit, University of Edinburgh, UK

We thank the previous members of the Ensembl SAB for their contributions to the project.

  • Allan Bradley, Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute
  • Anne Ferguson-Smith, University of Cambridge
  • Ian Bird, CERN
  • Jim Reecy, Iowa State University
  • Bob Kuhn, University of California, Associate Director, UCSC Genome Browser, Santa Cruz
  • Chris Ponting, Department of Human Anatomy and Genetics, Oxford University
  • Cornelius Gross, Deputy Head of Outstation and Senior Scientist, EMBL Monterotondo
  • David Botstein, Princeton University
  • David Haussler, University of California Santa Cruz
  • Deepak Singh, Business Development Manager, Amazon Web Services, Seattle
  • Detlev Arendt, European Molecular Biology Laboratory
  • Graham Cameron, Deputy Director, EMBL-EBI
  • Hugues Roest Crollius, Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris, France
  • Ivo Gut, Centro Nacional de Análisis Genómico, Spain
  • Jim Kent, University of California Santa Cruz
  • Johan den Dunnen, Leiden University Medical Center, The Netherlands
  • Lincoln Stein, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
  • Mark McCarthy, Oxford Centre for Diabetes, Oxford University
  • Matt Hurles, Genomic mutation and genetic disease, Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute, Hinxton, UK
  • Matthias Hentze, EMBL-Heidelberg
  • Michael Ashburner, Department of Genetics, University of Cambridge
  • Michael Dunn, Wellcome Trust
  • Michelle Clamp, BioTeam, Boston
  • Mike Eisen, University of California, Berkeley
  • Mike Stratton, Director, WTSI
  • Nicholas A. Walton, Institute of Astronomy, University of Cambridge
  • Soren Brunak, Technical University of Denmark
  • Stephan Beck, University College London
  • Steve Cohen, EMBL-Heidelberg
  • Toby Bloom, Director of Informatics, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, Boston, Massachusetts, USA